Grit

Noun.  Firmness of mind or spirit : unyielding courage in the face of hardship or dangerhttp://www.merriam-webster.com

This is the first time after several months since last time I watched TED Talks.

Recently, I have been experiencing career development difficulties, the topic “The key to success? Grit” caught my eye.
Angela Lee Duckworth mentioned grit is passion, perseverance for very long-term goals. Something that you commit to it and make it as a part your life.  From the data she collected, “grit is usually unrelated or even inversely related to measures of talent.”
In other words, grit is a growth mindset and belief: “failure is not a permanent condition, willing to fail, to be wrong, to start over again with lessons learned.”
I think encouragement plays a significant role to learn how to become grittier.  It reminded me how my parents encourage me when I fail. They told me it was all right, if you didn’t let it right this time, learn from the mistakes and work harder next time. However, when I compare myself with others, I am never as good as others, and it makes me depressing.
One of my high school teachers told me: You compare with yourself and improve your weakness with your pace. It’s easier to say than done because have to compare with others to know I am not as good as others. I made a picture to elaborate how to compare with others and at the same time feel better about yourself in the process of reaching your goals.

Compare with myself
Here is my explanation: First of all, not everyone wanting to improve their weakness. Some people just accept who they are and comfortable with where they are as the “Others” in red. Myself compare with others and want to become better than average or the regular standards.
The truth is there are always people better than most of us because we are the majority of common ones, when we use general standards. It is all right. It will motivate us to learn and practice more and become better than who we are now. The tricky part is, we have to remember to compare the future us to the current us. That way, when you look back you can see how much you have improved. It makes the learning and improving process more encouraging. The advantage of having this kind of mindset is to break down bigger goals into smaller steps. It can make you become grittier because the goals are not that far away from now.
At least, so far the method working for me although sometimes I fall into the depressing pitfall and feel that I will “never” achieve what I want to accomplish. So I need to remind myself more often: ONLY compare myself with the past me and moving forward because I will be better tomorrow.
Cheers!

About nczulauf

I am a visual person and a chart and graph nerd. It just how I understand things surrounded me.
This entry was posted in English Learning, Leadership and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Grit

  1. Sue says:

    That’s interesting. I am like that too in that I forget to compare myself with my past self, and just compare myself with others. It can be discouraging. But looking at self improvements brings encouragement. Thanks for sharing Ning!

Leave a Reply

